MotherLode: what if i'm toxic positivity?

managing stress when you have a deregulated nervous system

normally i take to instagram stories and reels to share my in the moment life events while i’m ‘in it’.

why am i telling you this? because i want you to know i’m not offering concrete answers or solutions in the video above but instead sharing a story and what is coming up for me in real time.

In other words, the REAL REAL

while i’ve been in the throws of solving for the situation, i’ve had some friends and opinions that have been on my mind; especially my positive, happy, optimistic friends.

i noticed something about their lives vs those of us who dwell. their lives, overall seem more positive and successful! not just financially. in all areas.

how am i just figuring that out?

anyway, i’m celebrating my tiny victories.

i noticed that, even though i’m wired for worry, concern and have a deregulated nervous system i’m starting to naturally practice POSITIVE REAPPRAISAL.

i am managing my thoughts and emotions around my current circumstances. i’m experiencing the emotions that I believe are warranted for the circumstances regarding my car being vandalized, belongings stolen along with my identity and money- it’s appropriate for me to be mad.

but once the bank and I solved for the immediate issue, I saw the upside in what could happen next.

i call this my fresh take and mix on toxic positivity. take a little cynicism, a triggered nervous system add a few deep breaths, plan-ful problem solving and voila! -

i’m moving on to the next thing. Not super stoked but repairing in real time. Able to laugh. got some hugs.

I mentioned FOUR Steps to take when you are under stress …

  1. BREATHE

  2. CALL ON COMMUNITY

  3. HUGS & TOUCH

  4. CRY

Here are THREE more to do after

  1. MOVE YOUR BODY AND THE ENERGY IN IT

  2. LAUGH WITH ….

  3. EXPRESS CREATIVITY

when i’m on the other side, i’ll definitely organize a proper podcast/ column on Problem Solving, Anxiety and How To Keep Your Head in the Game.

i’m basically a pro.

xo,

ash

Share The Sex is Great by Ashley Kelsch

0 Comments
🎥 Videos
workshops, education, bts
Authors
Ashley Kelsch